Sign in / Join
Balvenie's Ross Blainey. Pic by May Lawrence.

Whisky Brand Ambassadors Recognised In Bar Awards

A number of whisky brand ambassadors have been recognised for their on-premise work today as the Australian Bar Awards continue their drip-feed their nomination announcements.

Ten brand ambassadors from across the alcohol industry have been shortlisted, with one to be named the winner in September.

Amongst the list are a number of representatives from whisky-heavy portfolios, including Alice Newport (Pernod Ricard: Jameson, Redbreast, Glenlivet), Andrew Ratcliff (Proximo: Bushmills, Ledaig, Bunnahabhain) Dan Woolley (The Exchange: Laphroaig, Bowmore, Suntory), Garth Foster (Moet Hennessy: Ardbeg, Glenmorangie), Krystal Hart (Johnnie Walker, Lagavulin, Talisker), Ross Blainey (The Balvenie) and Tristram Lilburne-Fini (Campari: Wild Turkey).

The announcement follows the Best Whisky Bars shortlist earlier this week. The first round is voted by the industry (bartenders and brand representatives) before the nominees vote on the eventual winner.

Brand Ambassador Shortlist 2019

Alice Newport – Pernod Ricard Les Nouveau Distillers (Jameson, Glenlivet)
Andrew ‘Hemingway’ Ratcliff – Proximo Spirits (Bushmills, Bunnahabhain)
Dan Woolley – The Exchange (Laphroaig, Suntory)
Garth Foster – Moet-Hennessy (Glenmorangie, Ardbeg)
Grazia Di Franco – Mancino Vermouth (vermouth)
Krystal Hart – Diageo (Johnnie Walker, Talisker)
Mitch Wilson – Maison Ferrand (rum, cognac)
Peter Hollands – Bacardi-Martini (Dewars, Craigellachie)
Ross Blainey – The Balvenie (Balvenie)
Tristram Lilburne-Fini – Campari Australia (Wild Turkey, Russel’s Reserve)

Whisky-focused brand ambassadors have picked up the award in the past, including Richard Blanchard (then-William Grant & Sons) in 2016, Justin Strzadala (then-Suntory) in 2014 and Ben Davidson (then-Pernod Ricard) in 2013.

Previous Winners:

2018: Nick Miles, Sailor Jerry (rum)
2017: Samuel Ng, Four Pillars (gin)
2016: Richard Blanchard, William Grants & Sons (Balvenie, Glenfiddich)
2015: Sean Forsyth, Bacardi (rum)
2014: Justin Strzadala, Suntory (Yamazaki, Hibiki)
2013: Ben Davidson, Pernod-Ricard (Glenlivet, Jameson)
2012: Sebastian Reaburn, 666 Vodka (vodka)