AustraliaIcons Of WhiskyIndustryNews

Icons Of Whisky & Hall Of Fame Australia 2019 Revealed

Sullivans Cove's Patrick Maguire.

The 2019 Icons Of Whisky Australia have been announced as Sullivans Cove’s Patrick Maguire was inducted into the Global Hall Of Fame.

Maguire joined Sullivans Cove in 1999 and became the Head Distiller in 2001, when fellow Hall Of Fame inductee Bill Lark was also intermittently involved in the distillery. Maguire has been the driving force and face of the brand’s recent successes, which amplified in 2014 when French Oak Cask HH0525 was named World’s Best Single Malt at the World Whiskies Awards.

American Oak Cask HH0351 was this year named the World’s Best Single Cask.

Maguire becomes the 50th inductee globally and the second Australian after Lark.

“It’s humbling to be included in such an incredible group of people from the world of whisky. When we were playing around with stills and barrels in the early days, I never would have imagined that I’d end up here.” Maguire said.

“We just made the whisky we wanted to drink, and we’re so proud that other people from this industry around the world think that’s a thing worth celebrating.”

In the Icons, both Starward’s New World Whisky Distillery and Peter Bignell’s Belgrove Distillery picked up three plaques a piece.

Starward was named Brand Innovator and Visitor Attraction of the year, while Paul Slater was named World Whisky Ambassador Of The Year. Belgrove won Craft Producer and received Highly Commended acknowledgements for Brand Innovator and Distillery Manager. Bignell was on the stage more than most during the night, as well as his own awards he accepted Single Outlet Retailer Of The Year on behalf of Sydney’s The Oak Barrel.

Full list of winners below:


Brand Innovator

Winner: New World Whisky Distillery

Highly Commended: Belgrove Distillery

Craft Producer

Winner: Belgrove Distillery

Highly Commended: Tin Shed Distillery

Distiller Of The Year

Winner: Great Southern Distilling Company

Highly Commended: Sullivans Cove

Visitor Attraction

Winner: New World Whisky Distillery

Highly Commended: Hellyers Road Distillery


Master Distiller

Winner: Mark Littler, Hellyers Road Distillery

Highly Commended: Heather Tillot, Sullivans Cove Distillery

Distillery Manager

Winner: John Rochfort, McLaren Vale Distillery

Highly Commended: Peter Bignell, Belgrove Distillery

Visitor Attraction Manager

Winner: Barry Deimos, Whipper Snapper Distillery

Highly Commended: Emily Alessandrini, Old Kempton Distillery

Scotch Whisky Brand Ambassador

Winner: Mark Hickey, Spirits Platform

Highly Commended: Ross Blainey, The Balvenie

World Whisky Brand Ambassador

Winner: Paul Slater, Starward

Highly Commended: Sneha Rao, Paul John

Irish Whiskey Brand Ambassador

Winner: Martin Lynch, Teeling

Highly Commended: Scott Farrow, Wonderland Drinks

American Whiskey Brand Ambassador

Winner: Daniele Pirotta, Wild Turkey

Highly Commended: Grant Shearon, Brown-Forman


Supermarket Of The Year

Winner: Dan Murphy’s

Highly Commended: Vintage Cellars

Single Outlet Retailer

Winner: The Oak Barrel

Highly Commended: Casa De Vinos

Online Retailer

Winner: Nick’s Wine Merchants

Highly Commended: Harvest Liquor

Multiple Outlet Retailer

Winner: Star Liquor

Highly Commended: Chambers Cellars

Travel Retailer

Winner: Heinemann Tax & Duty Free Sydney

Highly Commended: Aelia Adelaide


Bar Of The Year

Winner:  The Baxter Inn

Highly Commended: Websters Bar

Hotel Bar Of The Year

Winner: Grain Bar, Four Seasons Sydney

Highly Commended: Capitol Bar & Grill, QT Canberra

Bar Group Of The Year

Winner: Speakeasy Group

Highly Commended: Merivale

More in:Australia

Comments are closed.

0 %