AustraliaIndustryLimeburnersNewsWhisky Bible

Limeburners Win Whisky Bible Award With Darkest Winter

Limeburners founder Cameron Syme

West Australian whisky Limeburners have had their Darkest Winter expression named the Southern Hemisphere Whisky Of The Year in the 2018 Whisky Bible.

Released this month, the Jim Murray-authored annual collection of whisky reviews and rankings is a certain headline-grabber. The overall World Whisky Of The Year for 2018 went to the Four Grain Bourbon from Colonel EH Taylor.

A peated single cask released at pure cask strength, Darkest Winter has been popular from the off when it was first released late 2016. A second single cask under the banner was released earlier this year.

Limeburners’ Darkest Winter

It is, to date, the strongest whisky released by Limeburners as their regular Cask Strength releases are offered at 61%.

The expression joins fellow Aussie drams from Heartwood, Timboon and Sullivans Cove, who have all picked up the award since it was introduced in 2013.

Limeburners is the single malt brand of Great Southern Distilling Company, who also produce the Tiger Snake bourbon-style whiskies. They have distilleries and cellar doors in Albany, Margaret River and Porongurup.

Founded by Cameron Syme in 2004, their first spirit ran off the still in 2005, they are one of the pioneering distilleries of the recent Australian whisky boom and are notable for helping develop the local industry from scratch. Syme is also the Vice President of the Australian Distillers Association.

Elsewhere, Tasmanian rye distillery Peter Bignell of Belgrove has confirmed he received two Liquid Gold award ratings in the 2018 edition, for his Peated Rye and Oat expressions.

You can see the full list of 2018’s winners here.


Southern Hemisphere Whisky Of The Year

2017: Limeburners Darkest Winter
2016: Heartwood Any Port In A Storm
2015: New Zealand Whisky Company Willowbank 1988 25-Year-Old
2014: Timboon Single Malt
2013: Sullivans Cove French Oak HH0509
Awarded since 2013

Whisky Of The Year

2017: Colonel EH Taylor Four Grain
2016: Booker’s Rye 13-Year-Old
2015: Yamazaki Sherry Cask 2013 Release
2014: Glenmorangie Elanta
2013: Thomas H Handy Sazerac 2011
2012: Old Pulteney 21-Year-Old
2011: Ballantine’s 17-Year-Old
2010: Sazerac Rye 18-Year-Old
2009: Ardbeg Uigeadail
2008: Ardbeg 10-Year-Old

Scotch Whisky Of The Year

2017: Glen Grant 18-Year-Old Rare Edition
2016: Glen Grant 18-Year-Old
2015: Glenfarclas 1957 Family Cask #2110
2014: Glenmorangie Elanta
2013: Ballantine’s 17 Years Old
2012: Old Pulteney 21-Year-Old
2011: Ballantine’s 17-Year-Old
2010: Ardbeg Supernova
2009: Ardbeg Uigeadail
2008: Ardbeg 10-Year-Old

More in:Australia

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0 %